A technical and administrative staff based in Newburyport, MA supports the Council’s activities. Led by its Executive Director, the staff is responsible for all aspects of Council operations, including preparing fishery management plans and other documents that reflect the Council’s positions and policies, ensuring program continuity, and the maintenance of records and archives.


The New England Fishery Management Council welcomed four new staff members between January 2022 and January 2023. Angela Forristall, second from right, joined the staff in January 2022. David McCarron, not pictured, joined in June 2022. Emily Bodell, second from left, and Connor Buckley, far right, both came on board in January 2023. Also pictured are: Robin Frede, far left, Dr. Jamie Cournane, third from left, and Executive Director Tom Nies, center.

Thomas A. Nies

Executive Director
(978) 465-0492 (ext. 113)

Christopher Kellogg

Deputy Director; Technical Staff Coordinator
(978) 465-0492 (ext. 112)

Joan O'Leary

Executive Assistant and Office Manager
(978) 465-0492 (ext. 101)

Woneta Cloutier

Administrative and Financial Assistant
(978) 465-0492 (ext. 100)

Sherie Goutier

Administrative Assistant and Website Administrator
(978) 465-0492 (Ext. 102)

Andrew Applegate

Senior Fishery Analyst for Ecosystem-based Fisheries Management (lead) and Small-Mesh Multispecies (lead)
(978) 465-0492 (ext. 114)

Sam Asci

Fishery Analyst for Atlantic Sea Scallops
(978) 465-0492 (ext. 116)

Michelle Bachman

Fishery Analyst for Habitat, Offshore Wind, and Aquaculture
(978) 465-0492 (ext. 120)

Emily Bodell

Fishery Specialist for Atlantic Herring, Small-Mesh Multispecies (Whiting), and Protected Resources
(978) 465-0492 (ext. 105)

Connor Buckley

Fishery Specialist for Skates, Standardized Bycatch Reporting Methodology, and Ecosystem-Based Fishery Management
(978) 465-0492 (ext. 115)

Dr. Jamie Cournane

Fishery Analyst for Groundfish (lead) and Atlantic Herring (lead)
(978) 465-0492 (ext. 103)

Jennifer Couture

Fishery Specialist for Habitat, Offshore Wind, and Monkfish
(978) 465-0492 (ext. 111)

Dr. Rachel Feeney

Social Impact Analyst; Fishery Analyst for Skates (lead) and Monkfish (lead), and SSC
(978) 465-0492 (ext. 110)

Robin Frede

Fishery Analyst for Groundfish and Protected Resources (lead)
(978) 465-0492 (ext. 124)

David McCarron

Information Technology and Fishery Analyst for Enforcement and Spiny Dogfish
(978) 465-0492 (Ext. 121)

Jonathon Peros

Fishery Analyst for Atlantic Sea Scallops (lead) and Risk Policy
(978) 465-0492 (ext. 117)

Dr. Naresh Pradhan

Fishery Analyst, Economist
(978) 465-0492 (ext. 106)